e-Portfolio: Content Visibility & Privacy

This video will review content visibility settings, and look at how to ensure your portfolio is only accessible to specific users.

I recommend leaving pages and posts set to “available to the outside world”, and control visibility at a site wide level, from the “Settings” and “Reading” options.

(Please toggle full screen mode when reviewing video)

Site Visibility Settings

Under “Settings” and “Reading” you can change the “Site Visibility” settings. This will affect your entire site.

Allow search engines to index this site: This option makes your site public and allows Google and other search engine to index your site and update site links in search results.

Discourage search engines from indexing this site: This option still makes your site public but discourages search engines from indexing your site and update site links in search results.

Visible only to registered users of this network: This option will make your site only accessible by those with a valid RCS username and password. This provides some privacy for your site while still making it visible to active members of the RCS

Visible only to registered users of this site: This option will make your site only accessible by those with a valid RCS username and password, who have also been added to the Users list for your site. To view the list of users select Users from the dashboard menu.

Visible only to administrators of this site: This option will make the site only accessible by those whom you have granted administrator privileges to for your site. The site administrators are in the same section as the Users, but will have “Administrator” as their role.

Adding Users to Your Site

To add users to your site, go to Users, and enter the users email address, or WordPress user name. Then choose an appropriate role for the user. If staff require access to your site, find out what role they require, “Editor” is often appropriate for this type of access.

Administrator: Users with the administrator role can add new posts, edit any posts by any users on the site, and even delete those posts. This role is basically reserved for site owners and gives you the full control of your WordPress site. Be careful who you assign an administrator user role to.

Editor: Users with the editor role in WordPress have full control on the content sections your website. They can add, edit, publish, and delete any posts on a WordPress site. An editor can moderate, edit, and delete comments as well.

Author: As the name suggests, users with the author role can write, edit, and publish their own posts. Authors can view comments even those that are pending review, but they cannot moderate, approve, or delete any comments.

Contributor: Contributors can add new posts and edit their own posts, but they cannot publish any content on their own. The biggest disadvantage of a contributor role is that they cannot upload files. Contributors can view comments even those awaiting moderation. But they cannot approve or delete comments.

Subscriber: This user role is particularly useful if you require users to login before they can read a post or leave a comment.

Page / Post Visibility Settings

You have 4 options available: I would advise you use one of the first two settings.

 Available to the outside world – This indicates the page is publicly accessible

 Available to all RCS users – This indicates only RCS users can access this contest, it is only available after logging into the Portal.

 Available to invited users only – For general usage, or to share content with your lecturers, I do not recommend this option. The recipient has to acknowledge the invitation, if this email ends up in their spam folder, they may never find the invitation. It is also not practical for staff to acknowledge invitations for every post, from every student. Further issues include, if the exam board requires access to your content, there is no way for us to share this content on your behalf.

 Available to staff only – This option only relates staff. If you set one of your own pages to “staff only”, you will not be able to view it once published.

If you exclude yourself from the content you will not be provided with an error message, you will simply be redirected to the Portal home page. If you are redirected to the Portal homepage when trying to navigate to a page, it indicates you have excluded yourself from the page or post.